Land Acknowledgement

Sigma Tau Delta’s Board of Directors and Central Office dedicate a portion of our spring packet to acknowledging and celebrating the Native American life that calls the land on which we meet their rightful home. We specifically honor the four tribes to whom this land belongs; the hinono’eino’ biito’owu’, or Arapaho; the Núu-agha-tʉvʉ-pʉ̱, or Ute; the Tséstho’e, or Cheyenne; and the Očhéthi Šakówiŋ, or OGlala Sioux. Our meeting site, which will also host the 2023 International Convention, is also situated on the Treaty of Fort Laramie and Cession 426, two of the countless Indian land cessions and agreements that willfully exploited and betrayed indigenous trust towards colonizing forces. As our meetings, deliberations, and camaraderie unfold over these next few days, the Society rejects both these past atrocities against native folk, as well as our present colonization of this land, while affirming the connection and synergy between the land we currently occupy and the four indigenous tribes and cultures that rightfully call it their home. We encourage our friends and colleagues on the Board of Directors and in the Central Office to learn more about these peoples and to support their right to autonomy and freedom through the websites of the Arapaho Tribes, Cheyenne Nation, Ute Indian Tribe, and the OGlala Sioux.